Skip to content

H808 – Spark of hope

December 28, 2010

It must be the time of the year, the Christmas spirit, but wonder’s will never cease. The presumed finish supplementary forum SA8.2 ‘The knowledge marketplace’ suddenly came to life again and I was able to ‘sell help’ already two times with some information about creative commons and some basic help about Audacity. And well the buying help part is a lot easier. ūüėČ

I thought my remarks about Creative Commons might be from some interest, thus here we go.

Creative Commons is a nonprofit corporation dedicated to making it easier for people to share and build upon the work of others, consistent with the rules of copyright. They advertise with the slogan ‘Share, Remix, Reuse – Legally’. Creative commons goes with the philosophy of Web 2.0 creating, sharing, re-use, collaboration. The OER (Open Educational Resources) like OpenLearn from the OU offers free online learning materials for all to use.

It is an alternative to the rules of copyright. Here in Germany, I learned in my eTrainer course that if you plan to design your own course, to use only elements that you produced yourself, not to add any pictures that show other people than you, except you asked for their allowance and, and, and. Besides the copyright rules, there are other great obstacles to manage, but that would be another story.

The recognition and adherence to copyrights © is an important issues that we as eprofessional need to consider, because violations of copyrights can cause great problems and more and more lawyers specialize in that subject and actively searching for those who break copyrights. Copyright differs from country to country, but e.g. in the USA and in Germany it is a legal offence. Copyright is a form of protection for original works. Here a link to the UK Copyright Service.

Well, creative commons does not mean that you can use everything and publish it under your name, but there are several licences available, with differing conditions. I copied that from the Creative Commons page (hope I don’t break any rules), but you can also follow the link here.

I found the following diagram as well very useful as it shows at a glance what is allowed or not.

I found this source that provides free sounds under the Attribution license. Flickr offers also e.g. images under several licences conditions.

Besides that you can use Google advanced search, click on ‘Date, usage rights, numeric range, and more’ and under Usage rights you can search for the different licences.

I hope that sheds some light into the whole copyright issue, and I must say it was a good revision for me and I recognized how much more I should actually take care of copyright issues, as I prefer including images into my blog, and definitely the minor was taken by me mixed


PS.

Here an update for Attribution-NonCommericial 3.0 Unported.


From → H808

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

