Skip to content
Tags

, ,

How to balance H809 with H807?

March 8, 2011

Picture from http://www.dailymail.co.uk

Unfortunately I cannot do mid-air splits as Meryl Streep in the movie Mamma Mia! But, let me tell you I am ‘singing’ often  Mamma Mia. I don’t know whether I am coming and going and I would need a day that has not only 24 hours, but best 48 hours, especially as the marathon with all the assessments start.

Next Monday, the first TMA (Tutor marked assessment) is due and I am in the middle of nowhere, ok it is a little bit better ;-), I know which project I plan to use, I mananged to design a research question, and I have a draft for the research methods. That leaves the research material and that is quite tricky. There is enough material out there about educational blogs, but mainly for Higher Education (HE) and I am researching K-12. However, the material that I found for K-12 addresses often primary schools, but my students are in a 10th grade vocational school, with health and care as main subject. Quite a dilemma, next to deciding which research literature is most relevant. I tried the citation search, checking which paper was most cited, and I also tried to include some older articles to show a type of blogging timeline, but that still leaves me with more than 10 articles, which I need to narrow down to the required five and I just scanned the abstracts, not knowing if they really support my research question. Not to talk about writing it down 😦

And if that wouldn’t be already enough pressure, there is the interview with an innovator or adapter that I need to plan and conduct and the first assignment is on the near horizon (24 March) as well, which requires to summary of all the 37 JISC studies and I just covered a few. Well, I am repeating myself, and I should stop complaining and go back to work 😉

From → H807, H809

2 Comments
  1. ulli-we permalink

    Hi Sylvia,
    I know how that feels. There is just too much and instead of focusing on one task after another, my head spinns with all the questions and half ready answers and other things to keep in mind.
    For me it often helps to go on a meta level and just get an overview and sort what I have to do. Than make a plan how to approach it. Afterwards I stick to the paln for at least a day :).
    OK tha plan is not that important – the overview and the sorting is it – for me.

  2. Thank you so much for reminding me about the interview – it had slipped to the back of my mind. ANd I haven’t even started planning the TMAs yet – this is not like me!!! I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA. I must do my TMA.

Leave a Reply

