Skip to content

H809 – Effects of audience on research (A6.2)

March 26, 2011

What audience did we assume for our research question we choose for our first assessment?

I decided on project A and my research question is:

“What is the impact of blogging on learning and teaching in K-12?”

Undeniable blogs are in my focus of interest 😉

I wrote my H807 report for practitioners, and I also assumed practitioner as audience  for my research here in H807. My intention is to convince other teachers from the advantages of blogging, at least I hope there will be some advantages 😉

I did not really consider writing for an academic journal, but I consider to write in a blog about my experience and findings. Why not writing for a journal? I guess, first I feel not confident enough  for that, second I think that my teacher health colleagues are not necessarily the ones who read academic journals on learning technology, thus I would need to find different ways to reach them. Third, I think that research for practitioner is somehow lacking. Being ‘forced’ 😉 to read a lot of academic articles I find it often difficult to apply the research results to my own practice, because important contextual information is missing. Thorpe (2008) criticise that most research has less/nothing to offer for practice. She argues that research has often ignored issues that are important in current practice, e.g. mapping course design, contexts and the types of interactivity.

However coming back to academic blogs. What audience does an academic blog address? It seems that a lot of researcher are making  now use of blogs.  In H800 we read Mitchell (2006) ‘Adventure in blog land’ and Mitchell notice there is this divide noticeable among academics who maintain academic blogs consequently pushing their reputation and credibility, which comes from peer-to-peer review and those who delay their entry to the blogosphere may risk their standing in the now global academic community. She also mentioned that with an academic blog you reach a greater and wider audience, and it is more timely.

I agree that considering the intended audience is important and I also agree with Scanlon that funders can have a big impact on which particular research projects actually run and in which direction, as well as that academics might follow the money. Well, I my case there will be definitely no bias, no funder no money, no influence 😉

Reference

Mitchell, L. (2006) ‘Adventures in blog land’ [online], The Age, http://routes.open.ac.uk/ ixbin/ hixclient.exe?_IXDB_=routes&_IXSPFX_=g&submit-button=summary&%24+with+res_id+is+res19201 (accessed 3 May 2010).

Thorpe, M. (2008) ‘Effective online interaction: mapping course design to bridge from research to practice’, Australasian Journal of Educational Technology, vol.24, no.1, pp.57–72; also available online at http://www.ascilite.org.au/ajet/ajet24/thorpe.pdf (accessed 24 July 2010).

From → H809

3 Comments
  1. well everyone who starts with a blog is set to learn something in order to teach his/her readers and that leaves that particular person on aggressive learning aptitude.

    My 2 cents that it is 🙂

  2. Hello, interesting subject enjoyed a lot indeed,I think we could became blog palls :)!
    Anyway I´m César, as you, I publish on the internet, even tought my blog conten is a lot different from this…..
    I write poker sites about poker bonus free of deposit……..
    Enjoyed a lot reading this!

Leave a Reply

