Skip to content

Comparing the Block 2 Readings (A8.6 + A9.3)

April 12, 2011

Is there anybody out there?

Since about week 6 it seems that only two or three people actively contribute to the tutor forum. Please no offense, everybody  have their reasons for not contribution, and I am a seldom seen guest in H807 as well , but especially right now with all the different perspectives and methodologies introduced it would be great to discuss our answers in a little bit more depth. However, sometimes only one contribution is available, or in the worst case the forum is empty, except for the initial blog post from the tutor. I recently spoke to another student that is in another tutor group and he raised similar issues that the forums are somehow deserted.

I already started sneaking into other tutor groups, yet there are just three altogether, and they do not yield much more information :-(. But, I found at least some students who posted something in their forums and/or blogs which help me to contrast them with my answers. I would call the communities of practice. We are a group, we share the same interests, have the same purpose – to survive the course 😉 and we are guided by formal and informal policies and supported by computer technology (Preece 2000).

We are asked to extend the table from activity 8.6 (which I somehow forgot :-S  with the reading from Greenhow and Belbas (2007). I also added Jones and Preece and their ‘Online communities’ .

Comparing perspectives and methodologies

  • Key features of the theory
  • Defining context
  • Aspects of learning foregrounded
  • Pros
  • cons
  • Application and uses
  • Appropriate data collection methods to use
  • Appropriate data analyses to use

Please download the table to see the results

Comparison table: doc, docx or pdf-file

References

Crook, C. and Dymott, R. (2005) ‘ICT and the literacy practices of student writing’ in Monteith, M. (ed.) Teaching Secondary School Literacies with ICT, Maidenhead, Open University Press.

Greenhow, C. & Belbas, B. (2007) ‘Using activity-oriented design methods to study collaborative knowledge-building in e-learning courses within higher education’, Computer-Supported Collaborative Learning, vol. 2, pp. 363–391, available online at  http://libezproxy.open.ac.uk/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s11412-007-9023-3 (accessed 31 January 2011).

Jones, A. and Preece, J. (2006) ‘Online communities for teachers and lifelong learners: a framework for comparing similarities and identifying differences in communities of practice and communities of interest’, International Journal of Learning Technology, vol. 2, no. 2–3, pp. 112–37.

Tolmie, A. (2001) ‘Examining learning in relation to the contexts of use of ICT’, Journal of Computer Assisted Learning, vol. 17, no. 3, pp. 235–41; also available online at http://libezproxy.open.ac.uk/login?url=http://www.blackwell-synergy.com/links/doi
/10.1046/j.0266-4909.2001.00178.x
(Accessed 2 December 2010).

From → H809

6 Comments
  1. Hi Sylvia

    I suspect that people at the moment have their heads down getting on with TMA02. But that doesn’t explain why they were not contributing to the forums earlier in Block 2.

    Perhaps it was to do with being wrapped up in the readings, but it would be good to discover why they weren’t discussing the readings afterwards.

    Discussions in Block 3 will take place in the Modulewide forum, so that might help you.

    Best wishes,
    James

    • Hallo James,

      it seems my call was ‘partly’ successful. Partly, because I hope some of my peers read it as well. However, I am glad that to be told that block 3 will take place in the Modulewide forum, I was about to suggesting to merge the three tutor groups in a singel thread and thus have a large number of messages, contributing to a better discussion. That saves skipping from one tutor forum to another.

      Thanks for your reply.

      Sylvia

  2. ulli-we permalink

    Great that you are still so enthusiastic and energetic. Wow.
    See a post in my blog
    “Low point in H807”

    • Hallo Ulrike,

      thanks for your comment on my blog. I tried to leave a comment on your blog, but it did not work twice. I will give it a try later.
      I wrote in a previous post referring to the song from Queen – I am a great pretender. I cannot tell you how much I am lacking energy and mainly time. I agree with Alice that you sometime brave the gap and just apply a strategic approach to survive the TMAs. I had to do that a couple times and simply pretend.

      I wasn’t really happy about my grade as well, though the comment sounded like I would have achieved a distinction. Once a tutor said that achieving a distinction is like the search for the Holy Grail. And although I received this time no comment on my English, I read this pretty often in my feedback.

      Finish the TMA and enjoy the Easter break and gain some new energy. The good thing is that in H807 the OU give us an Easter break, but not in H809 😦

      Best wishes,
      Sylvia

  3. Sylvia,
    Good news for you on the Easter break for H809… Block 3 should be visible today… 🙂

  4. ulli-we permalink

    Thanks Sylvia for the “Aufmunterung”

Leave a Reply

