Skip to content

Screenrecording / Screencapturing Software

January 20, 2012

First of all I want to thank all those who left positive and encouraging comments on my previous post entry about Camtasia Studio 7, the screen recording software. I am delighted that this article raised such an interests and it encourages me to continue reporting about my experience with tools I work with and other elearning issues.

Having finished my Master degree last summer I was a little bit lost what to write about, if not about study issues. But, thanks to my small part-time job as technical research assistant at my local university I have now more to report 🙂

However, I not only received a lot positive comments, but also an offer from Digeus software. They asked me to promote their Screen Capture Software SnapIt and receive a full copy of the software.

Well, this is new to me and I have to admit I am a little bit torn between if I should accept the offer or deny it?

On the other side I reported about my experience with Camtasia Studio 7 as well, named it, provided a link to the website even without being offered a free software sample. Although that would have been great considering that it cost almost 300 € respectively $299 😉 Thus, is there a difference writing in exchange for something or promoting it on my own accord, because I want to share my experience with others?

Do I search for excuses to receive a free copy? Well, the price $17.99 is absolutely affordable, thus the incentive is not so big 😉 and writing about this software does not mean that it will be necessarily a positive report if I am not convinced. However, the mail definitely raised my interest to find out what this tool offers contrary to the Snipping tool, a Windows 7 feature. My first question/thought was why should I pay for a tool that comes for free?  Yet, I guess there must be more features, otherwise why would companies like Digeus (SnapIt) or TechSmith (Snapit) – don’t confuse them – offer them for sale?

SnapIt Screen Capture   

Here some previous information from their website.

Digeus advertise with the slogan: Capture anything you see on your PC screen!

Features:

  • Supports hotkeys, auto-saving, clipboard
  • Automatically copies screenshots to the clipboard
  • Tracks capture history, auto-saves captured images
  • Saves files in BMP, GIF, JPEG, PNG and TIFF formats
  • Auto-names captured images
  • Crops out sections of vector graphic files such as Fireworks, Adobe Illustrator or Corel without having to flatten the files or open in a new editor
  • Irreplaceable tool for Designers, Office Workers, Business People, Analysts and more
  • Perfect for Technical Writers who have to describe interfaces, menus, buttons, etc.

I was also told that it is a very convenient tool for bloggers, because it takes a “snapshot” of anything exactly what I need, with just a click.

So let’s find out how true this promise is.

 

From → Work experience

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

