Skip to content

Top e-learning movers and shakers

January 22, 2012

A couple of days ago I found an interesting article from Bob Little, posted in check.point-elearning.

“The third, annual, top ten e-learning movers and shakers”

I came around top list for (free) tools or technology that was or will be relevant for the year 2012, like the Horizon Report from the New Media Consortium (NMC), which I am looking forward to find out what they placed on the near or far horizon. However, a list with the  “Top Ten” most influential people in the corporate eLearning sector, in the world, Europe, and the UK,  compiled on the basis of a person’s perceived current influence on the eLearning industry – as a practitioner, commentator, facilitator, and/or thought leader, is new to me.

Jay Cross is second on the list as a new entry 2012. I came to know Jay during my H800 course when we discussed informal learning. Jay offers the following definition:

Formal learning is like riding a bus: the driver decides where the bus is going; the passengers are along for the ride. Informal learning is like riding a bike: the rider chooses the destination, the speed, and the route. The rider can take a detour at a moment’s notice to admire the scenery or go to the bathroom. Learning is adaptation. Taking advantage of the double meaning of the word network, to learn is to optimize the quality of one’s networks.

I found his bus and bike metaphor vivid and like to used it quite often in my assessments or when I want to explain the difference to other people.

Except for the Theo Payome (third on the Europe list) the editor of the Germany-based CheckPoint eLearning ezine where I found that article, all the other persons where strange to me.

Going through the list I was attracted by Cathy Moore’s blog. She is fourth on the world list and already the title of her blog

Let’s save the world from boring elearning

sounded more than inviting to continue reading and I quickly subscribed to her blog to profit and participate from her expert knowledge. Right now where I try to design an elearning activity, I found her blog post “Design experience, not information” a valuable inspiration for my design. I learned during my study not to apply traditional pedagogy to elearning, but you get easily drawn into doing exactly this. In her SlideShare presentation “How to save the world with elearning”, she convincingly explains how you can overhaul an information-heavy course from a competitor with a new design that is problem-based but not information based. Have a look, I found it very convincing and not only because the test run shows how much more participants actually learned from that design and how greatly the injury numbers decreased.

Thus, Cathy Moore is my discovery for 2012.

View more presentations from Cathy Moore
From → Work experience

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

