Skip to content

My personal learning objectives

January 13, 2013

Learning objectives for the OLDS MOOC

oldsmooc_logo

Simon Walker, one of the facilitator’s, next to Yishay Mor and Peter Bryant provided the guiding questions below.

One of the big questions that may inform the learning design of a MOOC is the motivations for participation. Are they different to the motivations for participation in ‘traditional’ courses; is completion as much of an issue for you; how important is certification? What do you hope to get out of doing this MOOC?

What would be your measure of success? i.e. in 9 weeks time, what would be, for you, the indicators that this MOOC was worth the time you invested in it?

So what are my motivations for participation? That is easy to answer as my main motivation is meeting other like-minded people, collaborating with them, exchanging ideas about learning design.

My second learning objective is to learn more about learning design. I just recently talked to a fellow MAODE student and we both agreed that though we both finished our MAODE, that it is a difference between theory and practice. Thus, I hope to profit from this course and learn with and from others a lot about learning design for a 21st century curriculum.

Do my motivations differ compared to a traditional course? Not really, as a professional learner – a term I learned during my study – lifelong learning is a must and what can be more enjoyable than engaging in a MOOC, with no pressure for writing assignments 😉

Completion is an issue for me, but not at any costs, i.e. depending how much time I can spare next to my job, but I try to make as much time as possible.

Quite a number of participants that certification is not important to them. Earning badges is not my major motivation for participating in this course, but as I said in the OLDS MOOC forum the yellow hotshot badge for achieving all eight badges from the OLDS MOOC looks pretty good 😉

A measure of success, respectively an indicator that this MOOC was worth the time invested in it would be being able to present a project and receiving feedback from others to improve learning design. Yet, getting to know projects from others and discussing them would already be a success.

From → OLDS MOOC

One Comment
  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

Leave a Reply

