Skip to content

#COER13 – My first week

April 14, 2013

To bad a day has only 24 hours, I could need at least 36 hours 😉

Having   joined the #coer13, being back to school after Easter holidays and  with so many other things on my plate I find myself struggling to manage all the tasks.

Ok, here is my checklist for the first week.

I joined the live session, but although Adobe connect was used  we experienced great audio problems. Adobe worked fine with the #OPCO12 last year with about 200 participants the first meeting, thus not sure what caused the problem this time. Things did not improve even though I logged out and rejoined again.  I’ll gave up, but re-joined at the end of the session with somehow better conditions, but still experiencing audio lapses.  The good thing is that the recorded session can be re-watched.

Compliments on the #COER course team for the great video’s. I love the design, it reminds me on the Commoncraft videos, quasi

#COER13 in plain German

Yet, I find it somehow contradictory when a course members states that his motto of the course is to create with free free OER with free software and free licences. So, why use Adobe connect which is definitely not free, instead of e.g. Open Meetings an Open Source software? However, the course page made with gRSShopper  and phpBB is used for the forum, both Open Source :-).

I also joined the forum and was pleased to find a couple of participants who are interested to create OER in the health and care section. That is a promising start. I posted  my first tweet telling others that I’m a vocational teacher and that I am looking for OER in healthcare and that I am willing to design them and this is my second blog post.

I haven’t decided yet what type of badge I want to achieve. Well, I know that I would love to achieve the COER13 wOERker, but this time I want to be careful about being overoptimistic.

But so far so good, according to the schedule I finished all first week tasks.

3D man with a huge tick and thumb up

PS. In case you are interested in news and reviews about MOOCs you might want to look at the MOOC News and Reviews page which will be shortly launched.

From → #COER13

3 Comments
  1. Howdy! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the excellent work!

  2. I love it when folks get together and share ideas.
    Great site, keep it up!

  3. Valuabe info. Lucky me I discovered your site accidentally, and I am stunned why this twist of fae didn’t came
    about in advance! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

