Skip to content

13 out of 101 Design Basics – Old vs. new objects

November 10, 2013

Homework n. 13

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

 

Question of the day: What is contemporary design?

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

We are asked to observe our room and look at the old and new objects we have around us and to share a story about  these things from different ages and periods, generating all kind of nice short circuits…

adlerMy laptop (including the internet connection)  is an object I have constantly around me. It’s a tool that I use constantly for my work as well as privately. This (new) object facilitates my work greatly compared to the manual typewriter (old object) I had to use during school. I still remember the hassle to write my exam with a typewriter, at that time we had an electric one, but that did not really improve things. Image that you come to the end of the page, no typo so far and then in the last sentence you mistype. There is no backspace key to delete the error, the only chance is to start over again or hand in an exam with typos. That’s way easier with computers, though I observed that I sometimes become sloppy when typing, because there is no problem to delete errors.

Why do we do this?

“Because design is a language made out of multiple layers.
Some are new, some are old, some others are very old.
They coexist, they interact, they play together…”

From → Design 101

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

