Skip to content

16 out of 101 Design Basics – A Potpourri of Notebooks

November 12, 2013

Homework no. 16

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

Potpourri of notebooks
I was actually amazed how many nice notebooks you can find in a bookstore. I even found some Moleskine notebooks, the one mentioned in no. 15 letter. I had the impression that notebooks are not so popular, but seeing all that notebooks told me a different story. Here my colorful collection of notebooks and planners.

notebooks

They came in various sizes and colors. I even found a Christmas planner, the one in the middle. Well, Christmas can be a pretty stressful time, and with all the gifts to organize, the planning of the Christmas eve dinner and so on I guess a Christmas planner can be useful, especially when it’s such a cute one.

The cover needs to attract me, I guess the first impression counts. I prefer DIN A5 (210 x 148 mm = 8.3 x 5.8 in). Ruled papers are preferable when you do a lot of writing, e.g. my travel logs, though I like checkered one above ruled papers, but notebooks are often not available with checkered papers. When, you draw a lot, than plain papers are the best. Most of the notebooks have either a sewn or stitched binding or an unsewn binding. Spiral binding is often used for weekly planners. Noticeable was that many notebooks use an elastic closure and a few ones use magnets. The quality of the papers differs as well, some with a great paper weight (mainly the more expensive ones) and some with less. The paper is either bleached or unbleached.

To Notebook or not to  NotebookMynotebook

Reflecting on notebooks, I give it a serious consideration to start one. Recalling my notebook that I begun when I started teacher training, I started searching for it and browsing through it encouraged me even more.

Notebooks actually make a nice gift and Christmas is coming up 😉

From → Design 101

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

