Skip to content

18 and 19 out of 101 Design Basics – DIY Notebooks

November 16, 2013

Homework no. 18

Today, we have to make a second notebook with a stitched binding.

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

Question of the day: A series of solutions?

Unfortunately, the video showed how to accomplish the stitched binding too quick, so it was not comprehensible enough. The manual provided was not really helpful either and the video’s I found always showed more sophisticated stitched bindings. A day later I finally found a page Bookbinding 101: Japanese Four-Hole Binding that is easy understandable. Well, I nevertheless managed to finish my notebook, though I am not sure whether the binding is like shown in the video, but that was my solution. However, I haven’t found a solution yet, how to accomplish the homework within an hour. Not sure how much time I needed to finish this second notebook, but it was at least 2 up to 3 hours.

18_result

Homework no. 19

Today, we are asked to make another notebook. The first one was about proportions, the “Golden Ration“. The second one was about binding. The third one will be about the paper.

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

Question of the day: How to convey meaning with materials?

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

Yesterday, I already used a paper with a grass design. Talking about notebooks, papers and other material, I’ll need to tell you the story about Michaels – an art and crafts store. Summer 2003 I visited my friends in the U.S. in North Carolina. I stayed there for about four weeks and finally on my last day on the way to the airport my friend took me to Michaels. It was like wonderland, I loved it very much, because though we have crafts store here in Germany, the stores are not so big and offer not such a great assortment. I could have strangled my friend, because we had just limited time and then we had to leave. I had to wait another year until I returned a year later and let me tell you I spend hours and days in that store and bought lots of material and books there. That’s where I found the idea for todays notebook with a basic pamphlet stitch.

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

You cannot touch the book, but the quality of the paper that I chose for this notebook feels pretty good 😉 I used a laid paper with a hammer blow structure and 90g/m² paperweight. A Christmas paper wrap functions as decoration.  I could possible use this notebook as Advent calendar, only that I use it as a 24 day diary – My Christmas countdown.

 

From → Design 101

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

