Skip to content

22 out of 101 Design Basics – Kitchen stories

November 20, 2013

Homework no. 22

One whole week around the kitchen, kitchen tables and kitchen tools. Today is quiz day and we have to get ready for the week. This time we’ll have to pick a recipe which we have to cook three times this week. One time for ourself, the second time for three guest and the third time for our Mom or a very close friend. Sounds interesting, but I’ll need to choose wisely as I’ll eat this dish three times this week. I thought about a soup. A soup warms up your heart and is good for your soul, like Chicken soup for your soul by Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen.

I already love this week, finally a topic where I feel able, as long as I don’t have to draw a sketch from the food I cooked  😉

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

Question of the day: Cooking as a design exercise?

Why do we cook this week and what does cooking have to do with design?

Design 101, iversity.org

Design 101, iversity.org

My Kitchen Story
The kitchen is the most important place in a house, a place to meet and cook. As a kid I loved to window-shopping on a famous kitchen supplier. I always said that my house needs to be built around the kitchen and I always wished to have the cooking area in the middle. Well, when I finally managed to afford a small town house, I had to live with the given small rooms, but thanks to a good kitchen designer I managed to realize my wishes. Here two pictures from my kitchen before and in the final stage, though the stove is still missing in the second picture.

DSC01654      DSC02352

Kitchen song

The song from Jona Lewie (or the Ikea version 😉

22c

was a reference in the letter which reminds me on another kitchen story, but that will have to wait for my next post.

So stayed tuned 🙂

From → Design 101

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

