Skip to content

Start of the #OPCO12

April 23, 2012

OPOC stands for OPen COurse, based on Stephen Downes and Georg Siemens concept of MOOC (Massive Open Online Course). MOOCs are characterized by their decentral and open structure and the interconnected learning. I wrote an article about MOOC September 2011 and included a video about ‘What ist MOOC‘ which you might want to revisit. Bye the way, the video is not from Commoncraft, although the style strongly reminds on their videos, but is written and narrated by Dave Cormier and the video is from Neal Gillis. One of the researchers is Georg Siemens.

So what is the OPOC 2012 about, what is the topic of the course?

The course which runs from April 16 to 21 July 2012, explores the ‘Trends in E-Teaching’ based on the Horizon Report.

Below are the trends identified by the Horizon Report 2012

  • Mobile apps
  • Tablet Computing
  • Game-Based Learning
  • Learning-Analytics
  • Gesture-Based Computing
  • Internet of Things

We will discuss these trends and examine how useful and realistic their application will be for education and what framework and/or conditions will be necessary for a successful introduction.

Well so much for the beginning.

This is the introductory video, though only available in German 😦 but I will keep you posted about the progress 😉

If the video does not work, please follow this link to the  Open Course 2012 (OPCO2012) video.

From → #OPCO12

7 Comments
  1. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I will learn plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  2. Hello! I’ve been reading your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent job!

  3. Great stuff! Found you from a post on Facebook : )

  4. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Outstanding work!

  5. This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  6. Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

Leave a comment