Skip to content

MOOCs are Addictive

April 13, 2013

New MOOC, new Luck 😉

Giving up two MOOCs recently, the OldsMOOC and the #MMC (MOOC Maker Course) I could not resist to give a new MOOC, the #COER13 another try.

coer13-banner

Why the #COER13?

The #COER13 is a German-speaking MOOC, hence you might want to use e.g. Google translation to read the course site in English. Unfortunately the video’s cannot be this easily translated 😦

According the 2013 Horizon Report MOOCs are this years trend, although MOOCs arose from nothingness. However, Open Content was already mentioned in the 2010 Horizon Report with a time-to-adoption horizon one year or less.

Be in vogue was definitely not my reason to join this MOOC, but because I believe in Open Educational Resources (OER). At the beginning of my teacher career I found and still find it disconcerting that also we label teaching staff  as teams, teachers seldom work together and with very few exceptions, they share their teaching material. Most teachers guard their worksheets like gold and teaching takes still place behind closed doors, at least my impression here in Germany.

I don’t won’t to show off, but I definitely don’t belong to the teacher species of lone fighters. I was and I am willing to share materials with my colleagues, regardless whether I become something back in return. Nevertheless,  I like to take a look at my colleagues material, wanting to know what didactic and methodical approach they choose, which social form, which media and technology they apply. That inspires me and helps me to improve my own teaching. It is a fruitful process, in case others are willing to join in. Yet, not only the reluctance of many teachers prevent sharing, but the everyday work presents an obstacle.  Breaks between the teaching hours are short, stuffed with other issues and after 8 hours of teaching, the willingness to stay longer for exchange is understandable low.

You need a large helping of enthusiasm and a strong belief in OER. The question what’s in for me should not your priority, but the question what can I do for others should stand in the foreground. I think it’s a win-win situation. The person designing the resource wins, because others might comment on the learning task helping to improve it. The receiving person benefits from the teaching resource and saves time to creating an own resource. Reuse and remix of educational resources generates new ideas. Remember the saying: 

“It is more blessed to give than to receive”

The #coer13 will help me to

  • enlarge my knowledge about OER
  • find OER
  • create OER (alone, but best in cooperation with others)
  • learn more about creative commons and how to apply them
  • avoiding legal difficulties (not sure whether some arise, but German law is complicated 😉
  • to get in contact with like-minded people who also believe in OER, thus building up a network

Let’s get started. coer_bild_mit_url

From → #COER13

2 Comments
  1. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to know a lot about this, such as you wrote the ebook
    in it or something. I believe that you just can do with a few % to power the message house a bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. OER als Kommunikationsanlässe - "Brennpunkt Geschichte"

Leave a comment